I decided to hit Sweetwater State Park this morning for a hike – Little Bear (my 17 year old daughter) came out of hibernation around 10:30am (nearly five hours after I got up, and really, who could sleep that long when I intentionally STOMPED through the house for five hours?) and I said ‘get your hiking boots and let’s go.’

She got her hiking boots, though I didn’t think to tell her ‘and put real socks on, not those cute-almost-socks you like,’ and we drove over to Sweetwater State Park, which is only ten minutes or so away from the house.  I already had a map of the park in my truck from a visit a few weeks ago, so I asked Little Bear what trail she wanted to walk. My vote was for the White trail, which is about five miles long, but relatively flat.  She opted for the Yellow trail, which looks much shorter on the map, but has a lot of elevation changes that the White trail doesn’t.  According to the elevations on the trail map from the park, the White trail changes by approximately 150′ over the course of five miles.

The yellow trail changes by about four hundred  and fifty feet in three miles, ranging from 850 feet to 1200 feet.   This isn’t a ‘OMG!’ elevation change, but for a spur-of-the-moment hike by people who are out of practice, the difference is noticeable.

So, hike it we did, it took about an hour and fifty minutes, and according to my fitness app on my smart phone, it was 3.56 miles from the truck and back again.

Little bear? She went back into hibernation as soon as we hit the house.

Comments are closed.