Sorry for the delay, I’ve been trying to retrieve the photographs from my camera, which was accidentally sacrificed in the line of duty during my week at Joe Kurz this November.

We (Clay, Kevin the Elder, Kevin the Younger, Jesus, and a whole bunch o’ other folks) had a great time, though we actually didn’t see many deer this year.  We found some good sign, not great, but decent, and Clay did harvest a deer at the end of the week, but after the firearm quota hunt, the deer were definately moving more at night.

Sadly, with the demise of my camera on day three, I have very few photos to share compared to a normal, week long trip, but here they are.

We had a great time, hanging out with Jesus (hunting buddy we met last year at camp) and a bunch of other folks, but only Clay and Jesus managed to get any action: The deer I saw driving in on Saturday in somebody’s front yard, and some deer at dusk that night as Jesus and I drove around looking for critters, were almost the only deer I saw the entire week.   I did see a deer Sunday evening when I was in the stand – I managed to draw my bow three times on a small doe, and just couldn’t get a good, clear shot.

It was cold again this year mid-week, very cold in fact, though not into the teens like last year.  My Zippo Outdoor 4-in-1 came in very handy, since Kevin (Clay’s step-son) loves cutting up firewood. I brought a chainsaw, and we never had to use it, Kevin just used the saw feature on the Zippo axe and we were all set for a bonfire every night.

One thing is for sure, if you love to hunt coyotes, you need to head to Joe Kurz WMA and take some out, they are all over the place. I don’t think I saw a single patch of dirt that didn’t have a paw print in it the whole week.

Comments are closed.