…BUT… the property isn’t trophy managed, nor are any of the properties that BORDER this property.  So… do I try to take him, or let him walk knowing that (except for Jimmy and probably Danny) anyone else who spots this buck will take him?   I’m not really a trophy hunter, but I’d rather take a nice buck than no buck at all.

The backstory is – My wife bought me a trail cam last year, and I never found someplace to put it where I was comfortable leaving a $100 piece of equipment in the woods.   I am NOT a professional outdoor writer or entertainment figure, everything comes out of my family’s budget, so I don’t have a ton of extra equipment laying around.  Half of what I do use to hunt with these days I have because of being an archery staff shooter for Gable Sporting Goods.   So, this year, when we joined a lease up near Rome, GA., I was very happy to finally put the trail cam out and see what I could find.

I put the camera in a thin section of oaks that had some nicely worn trails – yesterday, I retrieved the camera, and all that was on it were six photos, leading me to think that I had three photos of me setting the camera up, and three photos of me taking the camera DOWN.   I was wrong, there were two photos of a small doe, two photos of probably a two year old buck, one creepy photo at night, and a garbage photo from taking the camera down.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So now I have to decide whether or not to take the buck, or let him walk and *HOPE* nobody else takes him, so he can get bigger next year…

Comments are closed.