Movie Review: The Wolverine

Posted: 11/25/2013 in Entertainment, News
Tags: , , , ,

Ok – first some background. I was a comic book geek – I say ‘was’ because about ten years ago, I gave pretty much my entire collection away. All of it, Grimjack, X-Men, you name it, *poof* I gave it to a teenager who would appreciate it.

click to go to the Wiki entry for Wolverine

click to go to the Wiki entry for Wolverine

Now – that being said, I followed Wolverine and the X-Men in general all the way up to the Siege Perilous story line, at which point I said “What? That’s a horrible idea…” and stopped.  It was a stupid idea, the artists had changed somewhere around this time frame, and I didn’t like the direction the comic was going. (I did the same thing on the Deadpool series, when they got to the point where they suddenly declared that Wade Wilson wasn’t Wade Wilson, it went downhill.)

So, the Wolverine movie.  I give it a A+ for effects, an A+ for acting, an A+ for everything except the plot and pacing.  The pacing was off, period, even my 15 year old was bored at times watching this movie. I give the movie full credit for NOT being a two hour slash and scream fest, but much like the recent Batman trilogy, The Wolverine has a few really stupid moments, which, honestly, I’m hesitant to discuss in full because they are MASSIVE spoilers, however there are a few I can discuss that comic book collectors will understand without ruining the movie itself.

First, in the comic storyline, Wolverine spent YEARS in Japan, and spoke FLUENT Japanese, in the movie, he needs everything translated.  In the comics, Wolverine was every bit as sneaky as the Ninja clan he fights in the movie. In fact, in the Origins comic story, Wolverine was settled in Japan and MARRIED before World War II.  All of this is thrown out in the movie, all of it.  I think it would have enriched the story of the film to have more flashbacks, and current encounters, with people who knew him, or knew of him, from that era.  The grand effect was the dumbing down of what should have been Wolverine coming to something like HOME, not be a total stranger, lost in language and culture.

There are other logical plot holes, two a mile wide, that I won’t discuss here, simply because they involve the end-plot and scenes of the movie, and I do think folks who DON’T know that much about Wolverine may enjoy the film, as I said above, my only problem with it is the continued mangling of the character.

Wolverine would NOT approve...

Wolverine would NOT approve…

So, overall, I give the film a “B,”  its entertaining, folks who watch the film for combat get combat, folks who watch the film for Hugh Jackman get what they want, folks who want to see WOLVERINE, the berzerker who will NOT stop from the comic books, they will leave feeling a bit cheated.

Comments are closed.