Tips to Better Hunt the Rut in 2013

Posted: 10/03/2013 in Hunting

I finally changed jobs at work, so now I can actually TAKE THE RUT OFF instead of hoping my off week lands at the right time…

Missouri Whitetail

It is October here in Missouri now and with that the rut is literally right around the corner. As most hunters would agree, the time period before the rut and during can be the best time to be in the woods. What a lot of hunters don’t fully realize is there is different phases to the rut. In this post I’ll be getting right to the point and providing the most important things you need to be aware of during each phase of the rut. Also, although I have shared my thoughts as of lately on rut predictions. I’ll provide you with projected dates that these events typically occur for whitetail hunters in Missouri.

 Image

Phase: PRE-RUT

Average Dates in MO: October 18 – November 2

Scouting Tactics: Scout food sources like Oak trees/acorns, fruit trees, cut corn, alphalpha and other mast which is likely to bring deer in. Look…

View original post 988 more words

Comments are closed.