I’m headed to Joe Kurz WMA this weekend – and it’s just far enough away that I decided not to drive there and back each day.  So, just like anyone who hunts away from home, I have to come up with a list of gear to take.  This is cracking me up, because the list looks like something I’d make to assault Skull Island:

  • Bow, arrows and release
  • Cooler
  • Tent
  • Tent Flooring (I use workout mats and the interlocking ‘shop floor’ foam squares)
  • Bug spray
  • Tree stand
  • Rope
  • Camp Chairs
  • Fire Ring
  • Firewood
  • Bucket and lid
  • Knives (I am a believer in what Logen Ninefingers says in Joe Abercrombie’s books “You can never have too many knives.”)
  • Knife sharpener
  • Cameras
  • Tripod
  • Shaving kit (soap, shampoo, etc.)
  • Backpack
  • Bypass trimmers
  • Cover scent (Big Deer Hunter’s Dirt cover scent)
  • Towels
  • Sleeping bag (Kind of a joke, I’m from 30 miles south of Canada – I certainly don’t need to stay ‘warm’)
  • Pillows
  • Apples
  • Granola bars
  • Camp stove
  • Coffee
  • Coffee pot
  • Target (I have a smaller Hips Archery Target to take with me)
  • Hunting seat
  • Binoculars
  • Rangefinders
  • Archery tool kit
  • Canned chili
  • Canned soup
  • Toilet paper
  • Immodium
  • Decongestant
  • Ibuprofen
  • Cell Phone
  • Car Charger
  • Compass
  • GPS
  • Screw in bow hanger

…and the sad, sad part is, I know from experience that I’ll get down there, get in the tree, and think “Oh, damn, I forgot to bring something.”

Oh well. 🙂

Comments are closed.