The Weight loss Paycheck

Posted: 03/21/2013 in Archery, Gable Sporting Goods, Health, Real Avid, Results
Tags: , , ,

Earlier in the year, I wrote about My Fitness Pal and Juicing along with a quick product review of the Sketchers GoRun shoes I picked up.   On the treadmill, half an hour ago, I had an interesting series of thoughts on weight loss and psychology: the first was a well known concept, that it takes something like thirty days to make something a habit, the second was that the easiest way for me to think of my eating and weight loss was to consider it a job.

The thought works like this:  Whatever you eat in a given day is work building up on your ‘desk,’  exercising in a manner that allows you to accurately count the calories expended is cleaning off your desk, with positive results being the paycheck.

There are a couple of things I had to get over – the first is weighing myself every day.  Most people don’t get paid every day (for a regular job) they get paid once per week or every other week, or in some cases, once per month.   Weighing myself every day was frustrating in the extreme, because unless violently ill, seeing several POUNDS drop off overnight should be alarming, and the second is that I make certain I use the same scale every time, and that I’ve taken my wallet, watch, keys and phone out of my pockets so that I am just weighing myself and my clothing.  I weigh myself in the mornings at work, when I haven’t eaten anything yet, and if I’ve had anything to drink, it has been minor.  I’m now to the point where I really consider once every five days a good ‘measure’ to weigh myself, which is where the thought about it being a paycheck comes into play.

And it works, quite well. Since January 14th, I’ve lost 35 pounds.

If you spend several hours per day on the couch, GET UP, even walking around the neighborhood is better than just letting work pile up on your desk…

 

Comments are closed.