Modern Outfitter: Life Lessons Learned From Hunting Wild Boar With My Father

Posted: 03/07/2013 in Archery, Feral Hog, Gable Sporting Goods, Hunting, Outfitters, Real Avid, Tips and Tricks, Wild Game, Wildlife
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Reblogged from Modern Outfitter

March 6, 2013 – chriskoches – News – No Comments

Click the image for the original post.

Click the image for the original post.

Our 4:15 alarm came early as we woke to a full moon and noise of frogs all around us.  The ranch was covered with morning fog, rugged terrain, creek bottoms, oaks and acorns of Mendocino County, Northern California.

The hunt was to be led by Connan Eagan, owner of Golden State Outfitters and his skilled team which ranks second to none.

The excitement for this hunt ran strong once the alarm sounded as this was to be the first time in over 30 years I was once again able to hunt wild boar with my brother and my father who turned 79. While some of you may want to hear more about the details of this hunt, I would rather share with you the greatest reward my brother and I received from this time spent hunting..

To us, more than the wild boar we were able to kill, the best part was seeing dad enjoy the camaraderie, scenery and energy of the hunt again.  Although time and Parkinson’s has slowed him down, his passion is still strong to share the experience of a wild boar hunt.

The last time I hunted with my dad as a kid, he made sure I was properly dressed, had the right gear and looked me over with a detailed eye. Fast forward and it is now my brother and I taking care of him; watching over him with pride and respect and most of all, with an appreciation for the outdoors and hunting.

Read the rest at Modern Outfitter

Comments are closed.