Product Review: Sketchers GoRun shoes

Posted: 02/26/2013 in Gable Sporting Goods, Health, Hunting, News, Real Avid, Tips and Tricks
Tags: , , , , , , ,

At the beginning of this year, I weighed 340 pounds, partly as a result of getting injured in 2007, partly because I hadn’t done anything about it yet.

So I decided it was time to get off the couch, out of the chair, and do something about it.  I blogged about MyFitnessPal and Juicing earlier in the year, and since then I’ve lost 25 pounds.

I don’t juice much – basically, when I’d get done juicing stuff, I’d look in the ‘waste’ bin and think, ‘hmm, I like that stuff too,’  plus there was a lot of fiber being tossed by the wayside, so I’ve simply been exercising and eating just a bit smarter.

One of the tools I’ve found that worked very well for me was getting a better pair of shoes to use on the treadmill.   I had a physical therapist tell me once that the active life of a pair of exercise shoes is, at the maximum, six months.  The shoes I had been using on the treadmill were about three years old.  After 2-3 miles, my feet and shins hurt terribly.

I found a ‘buy one pair, get the second pair half price’ special on tennis shoes, and picked up a pair of New Balance for my every-day wear tennis shoes, and a pair of Sketcher’s GoRun shoes for the treadmill, sort of as an experiment.  I’d seen several articles over the years about ‘natural running,’ and recently about shoes that were closer to natural running, and these fit the bill nicely.

They’re fantastic.  I’ve done 3-6 miles, 4-6 days per week, since I picked these shoes up.  I will probably wear them out in another month or two, and won’t complain a bit, since at that point the shoes would have been worn for nearly 180 miles of walking.

So, I highly recommend these shoes: take a look at them if you’re in the market for running or walking shoes.

Comments are closed.