Posted: 01/24/2013 in Hunting

WAAAAGHHHH! Dangit I’m on a DIET! *cry*

Antonia Cooks

DSC_0316 (2)

We live in a region where wild boars are fairly common.  During the winter months our local hunt go after the boar in order to keep their numbers under control and to prevent them doing considerable damage to the farmers’ crops.  The French are very strict when it comes to shooting boar and they impose some hefty fines if for example the matriarch is killed.  The reason for this is that it can result in a ‘population explosion’ creating an even bigger problem in the surrounding area as the family splits and new matriarchs are created.

Up until last year I had never seen a boar in our region and then in fairly quick succession I came across three.  The first was a boar the size of an Alsatian that I ‘bumped’ into walking the dogs.  Fortunately for me I didn’t have to climb a tree as the boar turned…

View original post 632 more words

Comments are closed.