I’m going to try to make pasties tomorrow – based on the result, I will feel more comfortable trying to modify the recipe using venison.

The basic recipe (I’ve looked at about a dozen so far) involves making a simple, lard, flour, salt, and water dough, then making an onion, pork, beef and potato filling, sometimes with rutabagas sometimes without, and making large self-contained meat pies from them.

These look interesting, however I think I’m going to use a large muffin pan and make the pasties more like pot pies, simply for containment and a more pleasing shape.

101265

 

The recipe I’m probably going to use is from Allrecipes.com, it seems straightforward, easy to remember, and easy to repeat.  We’ll see what Meat & Potatoes (the Wife) says about these.

 

Comments are closed.