Don’t forget – the best soup stock in the world can be made from the rest of the turkey after deboning.   I just put a nice freezer bag full of connective tissue, bones, and odd bits of roasted turkey skin in the freezer.  There are  a lot of recipe sites that have more precise recipes for stock, but this is what I do:

One rough chopped white onion

Two cut up carrots

Three stalks of celery, rough chopped

Dried savory and/or marjoram

Two tablespoons of salt (this is important START LIGHT ON THE SALT! You can adjust it later, but reducing the stock towards the end will INCREASE the salty flavor, so DON’T GO OVERBOARD)

One tablespoon of black pepper

One half cup of fresh cut parsley (Optional – you can add fresh parsley to the soup, but I like doing both.)

wpid-IMAG0050.jpg

I put the bones and above ingredients in the largest stockpot I have filled two-thirds full of cold water and bring it to a boil.  I let it boil for 8-10 minutes, then reduce to a light simmer for 2-3 HOURS, uncovered.  Taste the broth to see how salty it is at this point, but don’t add any salt yet.

I then strain the broth to get the bones and whatnot out, this isn’t a precision strain, just a regular wire-mesh strainer to catch all the big bits, there should still be some cloudy bits in the soup from fine particles of turkey meat etc.  I like those.

After straining, I return the broth to a MEDIUM simmer, trying to reduce by one quarter to one third to concentrate the flavors.  Once you think you’re ready to cut the heat (another 2-3 hours the last time I did this) then taste the broth again, and add salt if desired. Only add a small amount, like half a tablespoon, at a time, stir it well, then taste it again, it’s not really difficult to cut the sodium flavor, but why have to work to get something out of the soup when you can just prevent adding too much to begin with.

At this point, I put a tiny, tiny PINCH (like, probably ten grains) of SUGAR in the broth.

After that, it’s just a matter of using the broth, storing the broth, or both.

Enjoy!

Comments are closed.