Ok, I live just outside Atlanta near Six Flags over Georgia. I have access to a FANTASTIC hunting property down in Taylor county, GA, but it’s a two and a half hour drive, not exactly something that’s great for quick hunt.  I have access to 40+ acres in Powder Springs, GA, but it’s mostly a farm, and there is only a tiny amount that can be hunted, which is surrounded by people of questionable hunting ethics.

I have been hunting Wildlife Management Areas in GA on and off this year, but honestly, almost every single one has different seasons, most of which make no sense when you first look at them. (For example, Nov. 17th-18th, then Nov 21st-22nd. Hope you have days off on those dates.)  Not only that, but EVERY time I’ve hunted a WMA this year, I’ve had issues with hunters walking right by my stand, smoking, yelling to each other, etc.  I like a bit of elbow room when I hunt, as do most of the folks I know.

So I started looking into leases and hunt clubs, and I’ve come to the conclusion that seriously saving money and finding a couple of hundred acres to BUY might be the way to go, since I’m not paying $1,500 to join a lease that has more rules than any major league sport you care to name. I have found a few hunting CLUBS that I may consider further, I’ve requested information from two of them, but even then, its another expense, and based on number of days of hunting vs. working on those properties, the net result ends up being pay $X per day to hunt plus spend time and money working on the property in the off season.

Don’t get me wrong, I grew up belonging to hunting and outdoor clubs that required all members to work on the club, I LIKE working on properties like that, but working, and paying a decent chunk of change and being restricted in several ways, etc. when I could save money for a year or two then buy 200 acres or so might be the better way to go.

I would LOVE to help some farmers out who are having crop damage issues from hogs, but so far, I haven’t found one.  Every farm I hear about that has hog problems, when I call or inquire, either doesn’t have the problem any more, or won’t allow hunting.  So, if you know of anyone who wants hogs gone, contact me on my FaceBook page, I can get several hunters to come help out.  Archery or firearm, depending on the property owner’s preference.

 

Comments are closed.