Posted: 09/02/2012 in News

That is a hap-hap-happy dog! (I have two German Shorthair Pointers a Blue Tick and a German Shepherd.)

Murphy's Bird Dog Blog

I was originally planning on hunting with Elettra, but since I’ve never hunted the Pine Creek Pass area nor hunted with Elettra, I didn’t want to put the two unknowns together. Mia won the lottery and the chance to hunt. Since the country didn’t look conducive for Ruffed Grouse, I was looking primarily for Blue Grouse.

We started out a little after 10:00 this morning and spent the first couple hours hunting primarily the sage and brush above the tree line although Mia took me into the pines and aspen groves from time to time. But after a couple hours of hunting without any luck, we began a slow loop back to the truck. Not long after we began our way back to the truck, Mia hit on a couple of grouse.

From what I could see, the moment she went on point, two Blue grouse flushed. I watched one…

View original post 211 more words

Comments are closed.